If I Make This Shot

No matter how bad the coming workday promises to be. I can always count on Liollio to challenge me to some random office sporting event. I can’t remember all the crazy competitions we have had but they most often involve some variation of making a nerf basketball shot, kicking a nerf basketball in a trashcan or throwing a nerf basketball between two file cabinets. In fact, I would guess that in any given work week we spend at least 1-2 hours trying to accomplish various tasks with a nerf basketball. And then there is the inevitable bet that is always attached to one of these seemingly impossible shots.

Below are some of the more interesting bets we’ve made, and they always begin like this:

If I make this shot you have to

• Eat a triple cheeseburger from Wendy’s with double the meat (6 patties)
• Run 3 laps around the office building in 100 degree heat
• Eat lunch outside with the construction workers
• Take two showers a day in the bathrooms downstairs for a week
• Use the women’s bathroom
• Take me out for a nice steak lunch
• Wear a suit to work for a week
• Take a random co-worker that no one likes out to lunch
• Take 3 shots of gin before the dodge ball game after work (Liollio actually did this)
• Drive the 30 mile beltline loop of Raleigh on your lunch break (Liollio I have not forgotten that you still have to do this)
• Drive to the Virginia state line after work
• Drive to New York City after work and photograph yourself in front of the Empire State Building, then drive back and work the following 8-hour day

– Matt Herring

Leave a comment